Should I use ChatGPT or Claude for everyday work?

Von Ronan Liedmeier, Fractional Head of Growth und Kursautor · Veröffentlicht am 29. Oktober 2026 · Zuletzt aktualisiert am 29. Oktober 2026

For writing, summarising and everyday questions either one does the job, and both have a free plan. The rows that decide it are images (ChatGPT, on every tier), Gmail and Drive connectors on the free plan (Claude), very long documents (Claude on a paid plan, up to 1 million tokens) and the Word add-in on the free plan (ChatGPT). Pick one, stay with it for a month, and add the second only for a job the first cannot do.

For most office work either one does the job, and the choice comes down to four rows in the table below: images, connectors on the free plan, very long documents and the Word or Excel add-in. I use Claude for most of my own work and keep ChatGPT for images and because my clients use it. Every product fact and price on this page comes from the vendor pages I opened on 19 October 2026, and where a page gave no number I say so instead of guessing. This is the job-by-job comparison under the learning path without coding.

Which one should I pick if I can only pay for one?

Pick by the jobs you do every week, using the job table in the next section, because for writing, summarising and quick questions the two products overlap almost completely.

Prices first, since one subscription budget is the constraint. OpenAI's pricing page at chatgpt.com/pricing prints no currency amounts; each plan shows only "/ month". The ChatGPT figures below come from OpenAI's help centre instead. Anthropic's pricing page prints its amounts.

Plan ChatGPT Claude
Free Free. The help centre says "ChatGPT is free to use". Default model: GPT-5.6 Luna $0. Current models: Fable 5.1, Opus 5.5, Sonnet 5.5, Haiku 5.5. Fable is paid only
Entry paid Go: no price printed on the Go help page or the pricing page. Plus: "$20/month (billed monthly)" per the Plus help page. Model on Plus: GPT-6 Sol Pro: $20 a month billed monthly, or $17 a month billed annually ($200 up front)
Top tier Pro $100 or Pro $200 (Pro 20x) per the Pro help page. Models on Pro: GPT-6 Pro and GPT-6 Astra Max: $100 a month for 5x Pro usage or $200 a month for 20x, per the Max help page. The pages I opened give Max as a monthly figure only

Go has no printed price. The Go help page says "Subscription prices can be found in the ChatGPT pricing page", and that page prints no number. If Go is the plan you want, open chatgpt.com/pricing on the day you decide.

Gemini is out of scope here; the hub guide has one line on where it fits.

One disclosure before the verdicts. AI Academy is my course, so weigh my picks with that in mind.

What does each one do job by job?

The table has one row per everyday job. Each cell records what the vendor's page said and on which plan, and the last column is my pick, where "either" means the pages gave me no reason to prefer one. The hub's table covers three tools at one line each; this one goes deeper on the two.

Job ChatGPT (what the page says, plan) Claude (what the page says, plan) Which I'd reach for
Writing and editing a document "Unlimited text chats" on Free; Free and Go run GPT-5.6 Luna "Chat on web, desktop, and mobile" on Free Either
Summarising a long PDF "hard limit of 512MB per file", "2M tokens per file"; "Free users are limited to 3 file uploads per day" "500MB per file" in chat, "Up to 20 files per chat", PDFs capped at 1,000 pages; no plan differences stated Claude on Free; either on paid
Working from the same files every week Projects on "every qualifying ChatGPT plan"; files per project Free 5, Go and Plus 25, Pro 40 Projects "available to all users, including those with free Claude accounts"; Free "a maximum of five projects"; paid "up to 10x" capacity Claude on Free; either on paid
Remembering your preferences "ChatGPT can remember relevant preferences"; "can vary by plan, region, platform, and workspace settings" "Memory is on by default for Free, Pro, and Max plans on the web" Either; Claude's page is clearer
Researching with sources Deep research "depends on your plan"; allowance "resets every 30 days"; outputs "include citations or source links" Research on "paid Claude plans"; "subject to the same limits as standard Claude conversations" ChatGPT on Free ("Limited"); either on paid
Quick web answers Web search on Free, Go, Plus, Pro; "may include citations" Web search listed on Free; "Every response includes citations" Claude, if you check sources
Working inside Gmail, Calendar and Drive Apps "depends on the app, your ChatGPT plan, region, workspace, role, model"; Gmail listed only as an event trigger Gmail, Google Calendar and Google Drive "available for all users" Claude
Talking instead of typing Free "Limited"; Go and Plus 3 hours per rolling 24 hours; Pro $100 15 hours; Pro $200 unlimited Voice beta on "all plans"; counts toward usage limits; Fable "not currently available in voice mode" ChatGPT on paid, for the stated hours
Making an image "ChatGPT Images 2.5", "available on all tiers"; "Images with thinking" on Plus, Pro, Business "doesn't generate photos or illustrations"; builds "diagrams, charts, and interactive visuals" in HTML and SVG ChatGPT for images; Claude for charts
Analysing a spreadsheet "writes and runs Python code in a stateful Jupyter notebook"; availability "can vary by model, plan" Code execution "enabled by default" on Free, Pro, Max; Excel files "with working formulas"; 30MB per file Claude on Free; either on paid
Working inside Excel and Word Word "available on all ChatGPT plans, including Free"; Excel and Sheets Free to Pro, limited on Free and Go Claude for Excel on Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise ChatGPT on Free; either on paid
Letting it use your browser "ChatGPT agent is no longer available"; nothing else stated Claude in Chrome on "all paid plans", "in beta", "still risky" Claude, paid, with care
Having it write code for you Codex "included across ChatGPT plans, including Free and Go"; Codex Cloud "not included with Free or Go" Claude Code on "Pro or Max"; five-hour and weekly limits shared with chat ChatGPT on Free; either on paid
Running something on a schedule Active tasks: Free and Go 3, Plus 5, Pro 15 Scheduled tasks "available on all paid plans"; no cap stated ChatGPT on Free; either on paid
Holding a very long document in one go No token figure; pricing page says "Limited" (Free), "Expanded" (Plus), "Maximum" (Pro) Paid: "up to a 1M token context window" on the newest models; 200K+ is "about 500 pages"; Free not stated Claude on a paid plan
Keeping your chats out of training "we may use your content to train our models"; off under Settings > Data controls "You choose to allow us"; toggle under Settings > Privacy; default not stated Either; set the toggle on day one

What each vendor's page said when I opened it on 19 October 2026. "Not stated" means the page gave no figure. Plan and model names are as the pages print them.

One row has a conflict. Anthropic's pricing page lists "Projects" under Pro, while its help page says projects are available to all users with "a maximum of five projects" on Free. I went with the help page, which carried an "Updated this week" stamp.

Where is ChatGPT the better pick?

ChatGPT is the pick for images, for voice with a stated number of hours, and for a free plan that reaches further into Word, scheduled tasks and coding. Those are the rows where OpenAI's pages state something Anthropic's pages list as paid or not at all.

Images is the clean win. OpenAI's help page names the model as "ChatGPT Images 2.5" and says "ChatGPT Images is available on all tiers". Anthropic's page says Claude "doesn't generate photos or illustrations the way image-generation tools do"; it builds diagrams and charts in HTML and SVG, which covers a bar chart from a spreadsheet and does not cover a social post graphic. If one job on your list is "make a picture", you need ChatGPT.

Voice is a win on paid tiers because OpenAI prints hours and Anthropic does not. The voice FAQ gives Go and Plus 3 hours in a rolling 24-hour window, Pro $100 15 hours, and Pro $200 unlimited "subject to abuse guardrails". Claude's page says voice mode is a beta "available to all plans" and that "Voice conversations count toward your regular usage limits". No hour figure. If you dictate for an hour a day, only OpenAI has told you how many hours you get.

The free plan reaches further on three add-ons. ChatGPT for Word is "available on all ChatGPT plans, including Free". Scheduled tasks give Free and Go 3 active tasks, Plus 5 and Pro 15. Codex is "included across ChatGPT plans, including Free and Go". On Claude the same three sit behind a paid plan: Excel on Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise per the docs page, scheduled tasks on "all paid plans", Claude Code on "Pro or Max".

Where is Claude the better pick?

Claude is the pick for connectors on the free plan, long documents, projects on the free plan, a citation on every web search and file creation, and on a paid plan it adds Excel and a browser extension. These are the rows where Anthropic's pages state a figure or "all users" and OpenAI's say "depends on your plan".

Connectors come first because they change what the assistant can see. Anthropic's Google Workspace page says the Gmail, Google Calendar and Google Drive connectors are "available for all users on Claude and Claude Desktop". OpenAI's apps page links setup pages for Google Drive, Outlook, Slack, Notion and others, lists Gmail only as an event trigger, and says "App availability depends on the app, your ChatGPT plan, region, workspace, role, model". The plumbing behind both is MCP, and the MCP guide covers how to switch a connector on and what to let it do.

Long documents are the second reason. Claude's context window page lists Fable 5.1, Opus 5.5, Sonnet 5.5 and Haiku 5.5 at 1M tokens on paid plans and describes 200K+ tokens as "about 500 pages of text or more". OpenAI's models page gives no context window figure. On uploads, Claude's page caps a PDF at 1,000 pages with no plan differences, while OpenAI's says "Free users are limited to 3 file uploads per day". Projects follow the same pattern: up to five on Claude's free plan, and 5 files per project on ChatGPT's.

Citations and files are the third. Claude's web search page says "Every response includes citations, so you can easily verify sources yourself"; OpenAI's says responses "may include citations". For a person who checks sources, that "may" costs time. The checking routine itself is in spotting an AI hallucination in five minutes. On files, Claude's page says code execution and file creation are enabled by default on Free, Pro and Max, with Excel files "with working formulas"; OpenAI's data analysis page says availability "can vary by model, plan, workspace settings, and account capabilities". On paid plans Claude adds Excel and Chrome, and the Chrome page itself calls the extension "still risky", so read that page before you switch it on.

My own setup is the worked example. I run most of my work in Claude because of projects, skills and connectors: a project holds the files and instructions for each piece of work, Google Ads and Meta run through MCP connectors so I can ask for a performance pull in plain language, and skills hold my writing rules. I keep ChatGPT for image generation and because my clients use it and I need to see what they see. I pay for both, which you do not need to do in your first month.

How do the usage limits compare?

ChatGPT puts a separate cap on each tool. Claude runs one cap over everything, in time windows. Neither vendor prints a number of messages, so the comparison is in the shape of the limits.

OpenAI's Free tier FAQ says "Free users have unlimited everyday text chats, subject to abuse-prevention safeguards", and that "File uploads, image generation, voice, data analysis, and other tools have separate usage limits". The Go page says "Free and Go users both have unlimited everyday text chats". Plus "may include usage limits such as message caps, especially during high demand". The Pro page gives Pro $100 as "5x higher usage than Plus" and Pro $200 as "the highest usage tier".

Anthropic's pricing FAQ says "there's no fixed message count", limits "reset on a rolling five-hour session window", and "paid plans add weekly limits on top". The Max page says Max 5x "includes five times the Pro plan's per-session usage allowance" and Max 20x twenty times. Research "can use up your limits faster", voice counts toward the same limits, and Claude Code shares them with chat. The Fable page says that on Pro the Fable models "aren't included in your plan's usage limits" and that on Max you can spend "up to 50% of your weekly usage limits on Fable".

In practice, for someone writing emails and summarising documents on a free plan, the ChatGPT limit you meet first is the 3 uploads a day, and the Claude limit you meet first is the five-hour window on a heavy afternoon. I can't tell you how many messages that is, because neither page does. Keep a tally in your first month.

What I'd do in the first month

  1. Pick one free plan and stay on it for a month. Switching before you can brief one well only teaches you two sets of menus.
  2. Run one test task per row in week one, with the answer known before you start: a document you wrote, a PDF you have read, a spreadsheet you can check, a question whose source you know.
  3. Set the training toggle on day one. ChatGPT: Settings > Data controls, "Improve the model for everyone". Claude: Settings > Privacy, "Help Improve our AI models". Claude's page does not state the default, so look rather than assume.
  4. Write down every time you hit a limit: which tool, which job, what time. After four weeks you'll know whether the cap you hit is uploads, hours or the session window.
  5. Pay when a row in the table names a paid plan for a job you do every week. On Claude, Pro at $20 a month adds Research, Claude for Excel, Claude in Chrome and the 1M token context the help page lists for paid plans. On ChatGPT, Plus at "$20/month (billed monthly)" adds the 3 voice hours, 25 files per project and 5 scheduled tasks.
  6. Add the second tool only for a job the first cannot do. The pair that justifies two subscriptions is images plus long documents. The other reason is a client or an employer who has already chosen.

The tool map module walks through the job table above with screenshots and carries a dated review note so you know when it was last checked against the live product. The Claude essentials module covers projects, memory, connectors and file creation in Claude, one screen at a time. Both sit in the beginner volume of the course, which is mapped in How do I learn AI without coding and get from chat user to operator?

FAQ

Is Claude better than ChatGPT for writing?

Neither vendor's page ranks writing quality, and I do not either. What differs on the pages is around the writing: Claude lists projects on the free plan with up to five projects, PDFs up to 1,000 pages and a citation on every web search; ChatGPT lists 5 files per project on Free and 25 on Plus. The test is to run the same brief in both for a week and keep the one whose drafts you edit less.

Can I use Claude for free?

Yes. Anthropic's pricing page lists Free at $0 with chat on web, desktop and mobile, web search, file creation, code execution, memory, connectors and Artifacts. The Fable models are paid only: Anthropic's help page says Fable 5 and Fable 5.1 are available on all paid plans and that Fable 5 is not available on the Free plan.

Does ChatGPT or Claude have a bigger context window?

Claude's help page gives a figure: on paid plans the newest models, including Fable 5.1, Opus 5.5 and Sonnet 5.5, support a 1 million token context window, and 200K tokens is described as about 500 pages of text. OpenAI's model page gives no token figure, and its pricing page says only Limited on Free, Expanded on Plus and Maximum on Pro. Only one side published a number, so that is the comparison I can make.

Which one connects to Gmail and Google Drive?

Both, on different terms. Claude's help page says the Gmail, Google Calendar and Google Drive connectors are available for all users, which includes the free plan. OpenAI's apps page links a Google Drive setup page and says availability depends on the app, your ChatGPT plan, region, workspace, role and model, with Gmail appearing only as an event trigger on the page I opened.

Can Claude make images?

Not photos or illustrations. Anthropic's help page says Claude does not generate photos or illustrations the way image-generation tools do. It can build diagrams, charts and interactive visuals in the conversation using HTML and SVG, and it can analyse images you upload. For a social post graphic, ChatGPT lists image creation on every tier.

Quellen

Ähnliche Inhalte

Erneut prüfen bis 27. Januar 2027

Finde deinen nächsten Schritt mit KI